Ethnic Groups of the Philippines


The eight indigenous tribes of Mindoro have known no other home since prehistory, although their ancestors probably migrated from Indonesia. (The seventh-largest island in the Philippines, Mindoro is part of the MIMAROPA Region and is divided into two provinces, Oriental Mindoro and Occidental Mindoro.) The tribes, which are referred to by the general term "Mangyan," comprise the Alangan, Bangon, Buhid, Hanunoo, Iraya, Ratagnon, Tadyawan, and Tawbuid. The Mangyan population in the Philippines is over 100,000, and the great majority have grown roots in Mindoro.

The Tadyawan occupy Oriental Mindoro, specifically Naujan, Victoria, Socorro, Pola, Gloria, and Bansud. Their language belongs to the North Mangyan subgroup of the Philippine languages.

Like most Mangyans and other Philippine indigenous groups, the Tadyawans rely on swidden farming. Their traditional clothing consists of a red cloth in the chest and white waist wraparound for the women, and a g-string called abay for the men.


Mangyan Heritage Center.
Indigenous People: Keepers of the Past. Mangyan.
Lewis, M. Paul (ed.), 2009. Ethnologue: Languages of the World, Sixteenth edition. Dallas, Tex.: SIL International,